THE EVOLUTION OF “PANE IN THE GLASS” TO “DEESIGNS BY HARRIS” (part 1)

   It was suggested I blog when I started a business last year.  So I did.  Since I had relapsed with alcohol after being clean and sober for over thirteen years and got sober again shortly before I started blogging, this was definitely predominant in my being.  So my first blog was titled “When I Grow Up I Want To Be An Alcoholic…And An Artist.”  Major milestones for me…

Screen Shot 2014-08-25 at 8.00.37 AMas  I announced publicly, on social media, that I am an alcoholic, I wrote and published my first blog, and I was serious about my new business.   So it’s now been a year and I am reevaluating my business, my sobriety, and my life.  Everything seems so different.  I am so different.  Words that I’ve heard a thousand times I’m finally hearing.  Sights that I’ve seen a thousand times I’m finally seeing.  Literature I’ve saved for a thousand years I’m finally reading.  Because I’m ready.  And “When the student is ready, the master appears.”  It’s time.  It feels good.  I feel good.  I’m excited.

   While blogging I noticed that my writing had turned from business to,  well, life…in recovery.  It didn’t surprise me as I learned early on that whatever I put before my recovery I would lose.  My life was good, is good, so losing it was out of the question.  I took this suggestion to heart and very seriously.  I live my recovery today.  I am a product of my recovery today.  So everything that emanates out of me is recovery.  But on the business-side, I shall strive to leave my recovery out of my writing, but still focus on inspiration.

   Lately while reevaluating my business, Deesigns by Harris (focusing on Inspirational Gifts in Recovery and Hawai’i Art comprised mainly of stained glass pieces), I’ve been fortunate to walk down Memory Lane.  I started my business (called Pane in the Glass) back in the 70’s while I was in college.  I pulled out old photos and line sheets and have realized how far I have come and get really excited on the journey ahead of me.

   This is the first of a series of the evolution of my business and, of course, me…

   So while attending college my roommate and BFF, Sue, gave me a stained glass panel.  It’s the one at the bottom of the photo.  I must have broken it since then because I no longer have it (must be on a different corner of Memory Lane).

Pane in the Glass 

   Sue taught me how to do stained glass.  I am so thankful for this as it immediately became a passion of mine.  I was attending Fresno State University at the time where I received my Bachelor’s Degree in Industrial Arts, after having received my Associate’s Degree in Home  Economics at Delta College in Stockton, California.  Go figure.  So definitely a hands-on kinda person, none of those smarty pants genious-type majors.

   While at Fresno State I did my first craft fair in the Student Union at Christmastime.  It’s so fun to see how my work has progressed (and cameras; we still had no computers at this time and calculators were just coming into play).  I hung my ornaments up on a fireplace screen.  All good fun!

Ornaments

   And then I graduate.  Now what?  I could continue on and teach, but this newfound passion was tugging at me.  So I decided to try selling stained glass.  Thus, Pane in the Glass was born.

   I moved back home to Stockton, California, for awhile to pursue this new adventure at which time I found a publication which announced upcoming craft fairs, would send out photos and a description of my work to be juried, receive the application, and off I ran.  Remember, back in the day there were no computers, SmartPhone nor apps, but I did break down and buy myself one of those fancy electric typewriters and a Texas Instrument calculator! 

   So I started the craft fair circuit.  This was one of my first fairs in Folsom, California.  Fairs were different back in the day before computers and buying online. 

Folsom Fair

   Good fun!  Good memories!  Good journey!

   Stay tuned for part two of “my evolution.”

   Have a mighty fine day, everyone, and for those interested in checking out where I am in this phase of my development online, please visit my website at www.DeesignsByHarris.com.

Leave a Reply

