Beyond Belief Lies True Knowledge

Beyond Belief Lies True Knowledge

from Become What You Believe by Oprah and Deepak

DEEPAK:

The world has been changed many times through the power of belief.  And you are part of the current change which is bringing more light and fulfillment into your personal reality every day.  Yet there’s another dimension to this path using belief to reach a state of true knowledge.  In the Worlds Wisdom Traditions there are many statements and promises about the higher self.  Whether we speak of the higher self, the core self, the true self or higher consciousness, the reality is the same.  It means finding your source and living in the light permanently.

How do we know when we have found this state of being?  Clues have been left and yet they can be puzzling.  Existing in the light has been described as unconditional love, unity consciousness, enlightenment emerging with the divine.  These are lofty terms that imply a state of transformation beyond everyday experience.  However, if the light is eternal and unbounded as is described in every Wisdom Tradition then it is already present in everyday life.  You do not have to seek it, pray for it or reach out with a cry of the heart.  The light is your source.  Therefore, you only need to remember who you really are.

At the beginning of this path a person has forgotten what the true self is.  At the end of the path the true self is as close as the next breath.  In between is where faith is needed.  Imagine a day when the sun is sometimes hidden by clouds and other times shines brightly.  The sun does not come and go.  Its light is steady and only appears to be darkened.  This is the same image often used to describe the relationship that we have with our true self.  Its support is unconditional and constant.  But our perception is sometimes clouded or not especially clear.

Perception is a powerful influence of us.  We can see ourselves as weak, diminished, fearful and unloved.  But through the practice of meditation clarity begins to dawn.  This is the testimony of thousands of years of personal seeking.  Exposing the mind to its source and the light of the self brings your existence into the light everyday.  The clouds begin to pass away and the sun begins to shine more brightly.

FAITH BRINGS COMMUNION WITH MY SOUL.

DEE:

Not only has the world changed many times, but so have I because of the power of my belief.  I strive each day to bring more light and fulfillment into my personal reality.  I learn.  I grow.  I put my faith into a Power Greater Than Myself, my light.  I am not the person born 62 years ago.  I am not the person I was yesterday.  I am the person right here, right now, sharing my thoughts and feelings on paper.

I believe that my greatest change came from being an active alcoholic in the decades of early adulthood to becoming an alcoholic in recovery in my later adulthood.  Prior to my recovery I felt lost, that something was missing in my life.  I had no true peace nor happiness.  I had no Power Greater Than Myself.

But Alcoholics Anonymous (please note that this is my story and I am not a representative of Alcoholics Anonymous) has awarded me with the 12 Steps, which has awarded me to choose a Higher Power of my understanding, which has awarded me a whole new outlook on life and a whole new me who I can finally love and be comfortable with in my own skin.

And I no longer have to live in self-will and “think” that I am in control of my destiny.  What a relief!  What a weight off my shoulders!  To turn my will and my life over and to have faith that everything is perfect at this very moment and all my needs will be taken care of.

 

I believe that I am finally walking in the light.  Yes, I still have my shadows, my defects of character, but were it not for the light, there would be no shadows!

I am not a religious person but have found a very spiritual presence that fills and feeds my soul.  Yes, the light is my source and I need to just remember who I really am.  I am a woman who is a recovering alcoholic who is grateful for every moment of every day who intends to share this message of hope and optimism and joy with everyone who is meant to hear my message.  Today I have a purpose to fill that empty void of uselessness and unworthiness.

And how do I share this message?  I share by being mindful and respectful of everyone and everything that purposefully comes into my bubble.  Whether it be at an AA meeting, a grocery store, on an airplane, anywhere.  My heart, my Higher Power, tells me whether and what to share.

I am grateful to earn a living sharing this message via my art.  I strive to create art that has meaning and hope and healing and love of self.  Art that brings out the emotion in you and connects our hearts.  Art that helps you to love yourself for who you are and helps you to be grateful for your journey through life and your assets.  Yes, we all do have defects of character, things we need to improve about ourselves that annoy us, but we all have special gifts as well!  Never let go of your special gifts!

Yes, exposing the mind to its source and the light of the self brings your existence into the light everyday.  The clouds begin to pass away and the sun begins to shine more brightly.

Leave a Reply

