Turning Doubt and Uncertainty into Hope

Day 3 – Turning Doubt and Uncertainty into Hope

“There was never a night or a problem that could defeat sunrise or hope.” – Bernard Williams

Self-doubt and fear in the face of uncertainty can paralyze us and blind us to the good options that are available. Even in the midst of doubt and uncertainty, we always have within us the creative capacity to meet the situation and make use of it for our personal development and growth.

In today’s meditation, we find that when hope is awakened in the silence of meditation, we become self-confident and fearless. This allows us to look at uncertainty calmly and clearly, and to find the opportunities for growth and new possibilities.

OPRAH:

We are now on day 3.  Today’s meditation is called “Turning Doubt and Uncertainty into Hope.”  When it feels like nothing is going your way, when it seems that your path is being blocked by outside forces, at work or in your relationships or even with everyday problems, what is your typical reaction?  Do you move towards feelings of “Ugh.  Why me?” perhaps without even thinking it, or do you pause and think about “What is my life trying to tell me right now”?  That is the question.

How you respond to the difficult things that happen to you can mean the difference between a life of anger or joy, between despair and hope.  Eckhart Tolle describes it this way, “Life is an adventure.  It’s not a package tour.  Being at ease with not knowing is crucial for answers to come to you.  If you’re dissatisfied in the unsettled state you can’t hear the guiding messages from your higher self.”  I believe that uncertainty is really your spirit’s way of whispering, “I’m in flux, something’s off balance here.”

For me hope lives in these uncomfortable moments when you have doubts and don’t know what to do.  Well, when you don’t know what to do, get still.  Like Eckhart says, “Wait for a guiding message from your higher self.  That’s what hope is rising up to meet you if you clear space and allow it.  Let’s open up to hope as Deepak guides us toward getting comfortable in the uncomfortable spaces.

DEEPAK:

On the journey of hope fear can hold us back, especially in uncertain times forces out there feel beyond our control.  But ultimately it is not the uncertain political or personal circumstances outside us that determine whether we respond with fear or hope.  By itself uncertainty is neutral.  Great things can emerge from it, like the next important discovery, insight or realization.  Everything depends on how we choose to relate to uncertainty which is just life’s constant stream of new events and challenges.  Becoming a source of hope, strength and optimism allows you to embrace uncertainty.  Without this inner strength of hope we are left to suffer through crises and uncertain times which leads to self-doubt and fear.  You feel weak and afraid, not because of outside forces beyond your control but because of the self-doubt that comes from being disconnected from your true self.

When you doubt yourself you can’t trust anyone or anything.  The most loving and trustworthy person will only reflect your inner doubt.  You fear being let down which is the same as expecting to be let down.  People who have been wounded by failure in their career, finances or personal relationships typically believe circumstances outside themselves are at fault.  “Life,” they say, “is unfair.”  With that mindset you have already surrendered your power to the thing out there that defeated your hopes.

But imagine two people hired on the same day at the bottom level of a company, perhaps as an intern.  They both say, “I hope to be president of this company someday.”  One is full of self-doubt and the other of hope.  We can break it down into the ingredients that make dreams come true.  Taking responsibility for your destiny.  Embracing the possibilities that arise today.  Being open and alert to changing situations.  Having a confident, flexible response to change.  Finding solutions when problems and obstacles block the way.  None of these depend on God-given attributes, good luck or a happy childhood.  They are awareness skills and it’s totally realistic for you to develop them if you use hope as part of your inner strength.  That’s the vision we are on our way to achieving together.

CENTERING THOUGHT

Hope makes me strong and secure.

SANSKRIT MANTRA

Eem Hreem Kleem

I radiate confidence and strength.

DEE:

Developing hope does not come easily nor overnight.  At least it did not for me.  I believe being fear-based develops over a lifetime of experiences without having faith in oneself, nor a strong relationship with a higher power of your understanding.

As a child the bullying begins.  Not only are we battling with peers who put us down, but sometimes we are, unfortunately, demeaned by parents and teachers whom we disappoint.  And then we get into the workplace where our bosses put such demands on us that we oftentimes put everything, including our families and ourselves, on the back burner to get the recognition we think we so much need and deserve.

How could I have allowed this to happen?  I did not feel good in my own skin.  I did not realize the asset that I am, nor the gifts that I have.  I had to prove myself.  How stupid and what a waste.  But it was part of my journey that brings me to this place of contentment and love of self where I am today.  One day at a time.

I cannot say that the disease of alcoholism brought me to that place of insecurity, but I can say that it relieved that self-doubt, for a while.  But thankfully my disease brought me to a place of desperation where I could no longer cope with myself nor my drinking.  It brought me to a place of surrender.  And from there I found recovery, not only from my disease but from that self-doubt.  For me it was through the Twelve Steps of Alcoholics Anonymous.

There are many organizations and groups available to those in need of freedom from self-doubt.  I truly hope that you know you are not alone if you find yourself thinking you are a loser, a waste of space on the planet, that you can’t do anything right.  I was there.  But with a fellowship of loving and caring people who loved me until I could love myself, I no longer find myself in that deep and dark place.  The weight of the world has been lifted off my shoulders.  I can accept things, even embrace things, as they come.  Life is good.  I am good.

Aloha, Dee

For those interested in Inspirational Gifts and Art with a Message, please visit my website at www.DeesignsByHarris.com.  Mahalo and have a great day!  Don’t forget to love yourself for who you are, right now, right here.  You’re the best you can be.  It’s perfect!

From Deepak and Oprah’s 21-Day Meditation Series on HOPE.

Leave a Reply

