When You Are Real, You Have Infinite Hope

Day 5 – When You Are Real, You Have Infinite Hope

“Hope… is the companion of power, and the mother of success; for who so hopes has within him the gift of miracles.” – Samuel Smiles

Being hopeful is often considered impractical and naïve in our society. But the kind of hope we are talking about here is eminently realistic because it is rooted in your essential nature. Our consciousness is a field of infinite possibilities, a source of unlimited creativity. When hope springs from this place of unbounded energy and intelligence, then it is powerful and real.

Today’s meditation connects us to this source of infinite hope as our true self and makes our actions effective and purposeful in an uncertain and chaotic world.

OPRAH:

Welcome to day 5, “When You Are Real, You Have Infinite Hope.”  A big part of my life’s work has been to create a public space on television, in O Magazine, and online where people can share their truths.  One of my favorite people, best-selling author Glennon Doyle-Melton, millions have found inspiration from her sharing what she calls “the ugly truth about herself,” finding the courage to speak her real story unlocked a spiritual awakening for her.  Glennon says, “Pain is a hot potato.  Pain is a traveling professor and it just goes and knocks on everyone’s door.  And the smartest people I know are the people who say, ‘Come in and don’t leave until you’ve taught me what I need to know’.”  That’s what Glennon says.

Well, it doesn’t help to convince yourself that you’re fine when inside you’re feeling hopeless.  We’re all hungry for the real truth.  That’s the place of connection with yourself, and the important people in your life.  Glennon says, “Everytime you tell your truth it clears the field for other people to tell their truth.  Then the truth gets bigger and bigger.”

Well, as Deepak will show us, it’s human nature to want to control our story to stay with what is safe and familiar.  With today’s meditation we begin to open to the truth.  The unknown is not the enemy; rather it brings hope and the opportunity for positive change.  Deepak will help us listen and welcome infinite hope.

DEEPAK:

Everyone knows the story of an innovator who was told his discovery was unrealistic.

But overcoming conventional thinking is how new possibilities emerge and how yesterday’s unreality becomes today’s reality.  Therefore, a better definition of reality would be the field of infinite possibilities.  Where there are infinite possibilities there is also infinite hope.  This is not our everyday experience because we limit our personal reality to whatever is safe and predictable.  No one can predict what their next thought will be.  And yet we try to predict the unknown by forcing our story on it.

People who consider themselves practical often believe hope is impractical and unrealistic.  In fact, the opposite is true.  Hope is completely realistic because it is based on consciousness as the field of infinite possibilities.

How do we get past the old, narrow vision?  First, adopt the attitude that the unknown is not your enemy.  It’s an opening.  Next, seek out new things near the edge of your comfort zone.  Read visionary writers and scriptures from the World’s Wisdoms Traditions.  To change your perspective view yourself as open and welcoming, willing to live in the now.

When an encouraging experience happens, stop and notice it.  Affirm this reflects your newfound hope and trust in the unknown.  Also notice whenever you repeat yourself

using the same old phrases or opinions.  When you become aware of this habit, pause.  Ask the other person what they think or wait until new words come to mind.  You can only think change what you’re aware of and when you think and act habitually you remain unconscious and unaware.  Change happens only in the now, triggered by self-awareness.

We develop trust by holding hope for a positive outcome without trying to control it.  For many hope is a constricted demand, like a child who wants a certain toy and won’t be happy with anything else.  But the Universe doesn’t work according to a wish list.  The force of evolution unfolds through an unrestricted vision bringing us what we actually need, not the next ego-demand.  When you draw upon consciousness as your reality, then hope is open-ended but powerful.  Trust you will be guided to the best outcome without expecting to know what that outcome will be or how to get there.  The path to fulfillment is unpredictable by its very nature.  But this doesn’t make it untrustworthy.  It makes it interesting and beautiful.

CENTERING THOUGHT

I have every hope in the world.

SANSKRIT MANTRA

Aham Brahmasmi

I am the wholeness of universal existence.

DEE:

Hopes to me are dreams…visions of a bright, optimistic and positive future.  Perhaps being hopeful is impractical and naïve but living in my cartoonish Loony Tunes world works for me.  It keeps me light and stress free and living in the moment.  It lets my inner child roam about.  Yes, it works for me.  It keeps me real in my childish and care-free, yet responsible way.

But let’s get realistic for a moment.  Yes, I can still go there.  I do have ugly truths about myself and I, too, have experienced great pain.  Living a life addicted to alcohol and whatever other substance I could get my hands on put me in a deep and dark hellish existence.  And I spent a lot of time there, a big chunk of my life, wondering, “How did I get here?  Why did I get here?”  All I was doing was basically existing.  I had no purpose.  I was void of a reason for living except to get that next drink into my body.  Actually, I was just a waste of space on this planet.  I couldn’t understand why people were happy and joyful and light-hearted and grateful.  I just couldn’t get it!

But now living in a life of recovery thanks to an inpatient treatment program and Alcoholics Anonymous (please note I am not a representative nor spokesperson of this most awesome organization in the world!) has helped me to answer some of these questions.  And because of my sobriety and recovery and fellowship and Twelve Steps I now know I have a Higher Power, a power greater than myself, a power of my own understanding.  And this power has shown me the answers.

I am here to share my experience, strength and hope with those in need of compassion, hope, optimism, whether in the disease of addiction or depression or abuse or life on life’s terms.  I’ve been led on my journey through life thus far to bring me here and to this purpose.

And because I am no longer hopeless and have been taught to live a rigorously honest life, I have experienced a wonderful connection with myself and with those who have not coincidentally entered my “Dee Bubble”.  So I, too, have found as Glennon says, “Everytime you tell your truth it clears the field for other people to tell their truth.  Then the truth gets bigger and bigger.”  It’s awesome!

Thank God I’ve been shown how to emerge from my safe and predictable place which is no longer in the bottle (which, by the way, was anything but predictable…nor safe).  I didn’t read the Worlds Wisdom Traditions nor visionary writings and scriptures, but what was put in front of me was The Big Book of Alcoholics Anonymous.  It has helped me tremendously to learn about a disease I didn’t even know I had.  It has helped me tremendously to learn about what makes me tick.  It has helped me tremendously by offering me a solution to my “maladies” and has given me a tool box for living.

There are many other great organizations and groups that are available to you so that you do not have to struggle through your “maladies” alone, if A.A. is not the right fit for you.  But, please, do know that you are not unique; others have suffered through what you are going through now and have come out on the other side full of hope and optimism and the eagerness to share their experience, strength and hope with you.  The road to happy destiny was not meant to be trudged alone!

Aloha, Dee

For those interested in Motivational and Inspirational Art with a Message, please visit my website at www.DeesignsByHarris.com.  Mahalo and have a Loony Tunes day!

Leave a Reply

